Hall of Fame welcomes class of 2016

By Sports Information

TORONTO — Ryerson Athletics is pleased to announce the 2016 inductees for the Ryerson University Athletics Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2016, which featured two athletes and a team, were inducted into the Hall of Fame at a ceremony at the Mattamy Athletic Centre on October 1. The inductions were part of Ryerson University’s Alumni Weekend.

Ryerson University's Athletics Hall of Fame honours individuals and teams who have made outstanding contributions to the university's Athletics and Recreation programs.


Athlete 2002-2007

Ryan Vandenburg Hall of Fame Induction

Ryan Vandenburg (Urban and Regional Planning, 2007) enters the Hall of Fame as one of the most decorated athletes in Ryerson history. ‘Snake’ was a three-time CIS All-Canadian and a two-time OUA Most Valuable Player. During his five-year career with the Rams, Vandenburg was named an OUA first team all-star on four occasions and is the only four-time recipient of the Ryersonian Male Athlete of the Year Award. He is the Rams career leader in total points, points per set, kills, kills per set, service aces and hitting percentage. Vandenburg also holds nine single season Ryerson records. In 2005-06, he helped lead the Rams to an 18-2 record and the team’s first ever appearance in the OUA championship.


Athlete 1996-2001

Miruna Muller Hall of Fame Induction

Miruna Muller is one of only two women in Rams history to have won the H.H. Kerr Female Athlete of the Year Award three consecutive years (’99, ‘00, ’01). She was also a three-time OUA East first team all-star and the women’s basketball team MVP in 2000-01. A recipient of Ryerson’s Blue and Gold ‘R’ awards, Muller enters the Hall of Fame holding the team records for most field goals made in a season (131) and the best three-point percentage in a season (41.4). She is also among the Rams top four career leaders in five different statistical categories, including second with 1,151 career points.


Team 1998-1999

1998-99 Men's Basketball team Hall of Fame Induction 

The 1998-99 Rams men’s basketball team made school history, delivering when it mattered the
most. Led by long-time head coach Terry Haggerty, the Rams finished the OUA regular season in fourth place in the East division with a 10-10 record before going on a magical run in the postseason. Ryerson knocked off first place and defending division champion Laurentian 74-66 in the semi-finals before defeating second place Carleton 50-44 to win the East championship in front of hundreds of raucous fans. With the win the Rams advanced to the OUA Championship game and became the first Ryerson team in the school’s 51 year history to qualify for the national championship.

Players: Rob Armstrong, Trevor Challenger, Kurt Eby, Karim Gilani, Ben Gorham, Geoff Hebert, Sasha Ivankovic, Jan-Michael Nation, Dave Petropoulos, Giuseppe Pompei, Duane Quashie, Will Sealy, Brian Smith, Brad Woodgate
Coach: Terry Haggerty
Assistant Coaches: Lui Cinello, Richard Dean, Bob Marsh
Team Therapist: Lenny Ferraro
Team Doctor: David Lowe





  • Video Highlights
  • Video Features
General Releases
Rams Rewind - March 1
General Releases
Rams Rewind - February 9
General Releases
Ryerson Rams Pride Night
General Releases
Athletic Banquet '17 Finalists - RSU Female Rookie of the Year
General Releases
Athletic Banquet '17 Finalists - H.H. Kerr Female Athlete of the Year...
General Releases
Athletic Banquet '17 Finalists - Ryersonian Male Athlete of the Year...
Ryerson Rams Care