Hall of Fame 2009 Inductees

Donald Barr

Donald Barr, Builder

Dr. Donald Barr joined Ryerson in 1957 as the Director of the Ryerson Health Centre and retired in 1989. From 1976-1989, Dr. Barr served as Chair of the President’s Advisory Committee on Athletics and Recreation. He was the main voice to the various Ryerson Presidents on athletic and recreational topics and was responsible for presenting the annual budget for approval. Dr. Barr championed year in and year out many athletic and recreational projects – especially as the on-site doctor for men’s ice hockey. He was the Chair during the referendum for RAC in 1984.Dr. Barr received the Ryersonian of the Year Award in 1989.


Greg Toomey

Greg Toomey, Leader


Greg Toomey (Applied Computer Science, 2003), played on 5 different teams the year he arrived at Ryerson and from then on was fully entrenched in Intramurals. He convened Men’s Ball Hockey for the next three years and officiated in Ice Hockey for two while continuing to play in a variety of sports for the next three years.He was a member of PACAR in 2002-03, and on the Hall of Fame Selection Committee in 2003. In 2002, for his contribution to Athletics, he received the Student Services Leadership Award and was also the first convener to receive the Convener of the Year Award.


David Fogolin

David Fogolin, Athlete


David Fogolin (Architecture, 1978), a 6’7” forward was the team captain for two years and was the first player to win three Most Valuable Player awards in Basketball – an outstanding record which stood for 15 years.He led the league in rebounds with 15.7 per game and has held that Ryerson record from 1975 to the present – a total of 34 years. David dominated the league in 1976 with 18.6 points per game and was selected as an OUA second team All Star that year. In 1976, he was awarded the Ryersonian Trophy for Outstanding Male Athlete. He also received the Gold “R”.


Adam Hyde

Adam Hyde, Athlete

Adam Hyde (Business Management, 1991), was the Captain for three years on the very young Men’s Soccer Team. He played first string for all four years and won the Most Valuable Player Award for Soccer for two years in a row - a feat that only he has accomplished in 19 years.A strong Centre Back player, he was a dedicated and passionate player who gave 110% in every game. He is the only soccer player in over 60 years to win the prestigious D.H. Craighead Award for Greatest Contribution to Athletics and is also the winner of the Gold “R”.




Jennifer Trabert, Athlete

Jennifer Trabert (Interior Design, 1995), set high goals for herself when she came to Ryerson and met them by being the first ever Ryerson Ram to win an individual OWIAA Foil Championship twice! Once in 1992 and also in 1994 - a feat yet to be broken in any sport. She was the first athlete to receive the Ryerson Rookie of the Year Award in 1993, and is one of only five fencers to win the Walter Pitman Most Valuable Player Award twice. She received the H.H. Kerr Trophy for Female Athlete of the Year in 1995 and is also a winner of the Gold “R”.



Lia Ustel

Lia Ustel, Athlete


Lia Ustel (Secretarial Science, 1976), is the only female athlete in 60 years to have played first string for four years on two different teams. In 1975, the Ryersonian wrote - she exudes a feeling of high spirits and influences the rest of the team on to victory. In 1972, she was the unanimous choice for the H.H. Kerr Female Athlete of the Year and was chosen Most Valuable Player in Volleyball in 1974-75. In Badminton she played singles, doubles and mixed while her Volleyball team held the highest win/loss ratio of any Women’s Volleyball Team from 1975 to 2002 – a period of 27 years.


Men's Hockey, Team

OIAA Championship

Exactly 50 years ago, 500 fans roared approval as Coach Norm McClelland led his men’s hockey team to their first Ontario Interuniversity Athletic Association Championship for Ryerson in 1958-59. Following several successful years of hockey, that year the team did not lose a single game and dominated the league. The team practiced at their home arena in distant Scarborough. The coach is quoted as saying “if the two power lines can maintain their balance and effectiveness they should run up an impressive goals against column by the seasons end” and well they did.


Back Row (L-R): D. Dinan, Manager; L. Sommers, Manager; W. Kinoshameg; G. Smerchinski; R. Jewel; J. Phillips; M. Brydson; A. Geracimo; K. Knightly; M. Kruzel; N. McClelland, Coach
Front Row (L-R): C. Coffey; W. Patterson; B. Webber; K. Austin; R. Hall; D. Broad; G. Hess; G. Benedet; D. Taylor
Missing M. McCharles; J. McLennan, Trainer